Assembly of Fellows

Prof. CHAN Sun On Hector (Head)
Ex-officio Member
Dr. JUNKER Andrew (Yale-China Association Representative)

Miss LUK Man Chung Jean (College Secretary)

Prof. CHAN Kwan Chee Allen

Prof. CHAN YIP Wing Han Carmen

Dr. CHANG Ming Yuen Michael
Prof. CHENG Sze Lok Alfred
Prof. CHEUNG Chin Hung Sidney
Prof. CHEUNG Kam Siu Kenneth 
Prof. CHEUNG Sui Wai Prof. CHONG Tai Leung Terence Prof. CHUNG Tsz Shun Eric
Prof. FAN Sin Piu Prof. HUANG Yong Prof. HUI Ho Lam Jerome
Prof. KONG Pik Shan Alice Prof. LAM Hon Ming  Prof. LEE Ho Man Jimmy
Prof. LEE Jyh An Prof. LEE Ka Man Carmen   Dr. LEUNG Fung Lin Elean
Prof. MERCURIO Bryan Prof. NAKANO Lynne Yukie Prof. NGAI To
Prof. SHU Ching Tat Chester Prof. SO York Kee Clement Prof. SUM Kim Wai Raymond
Prof. SZETO Cheuk Chun  Prof. TAM Wai Ping Lukas  Prof. TONG Kai Yu Raymond
Prof. WAN Chun Ying Lisa Prof. WAN Yau Heng Tom Prof. WING Yun Kwok
Prof. WONG Wing Tak Jack Prof. YOUNG Danqing Prof. ZHANG Jian
Prof. ZHONG Hua Sara

Student Members

Mr. CHOI Man Wai Horace
Mr. WONG Pui Man



 Effective Date : 01 August 2022

 (A)    Terms of Reference

          As stipulated in The Chinese University of Hong Kong Ordinance, the College Assembly of Fellows shall be

          responsible for formulating and executing functions and duties related to College affairs, including:


          1.     The promotion of student-oriented teaching in collaboration with the Boards of Studies and 

                     under the direction of the Senate of the University;

          2.     The planning and promotion of general education and physical education programmes;

          3.     Provision of student counseling services and maintenance of student discipline;

          4.     The promotion of student welfare, and supervision of all matters related to the planning and 

                     management of student hostels;

          5.     The advancement of academic and cultural activities;

          6.     The development of public relations, including liaison with alumni and strategies on fund-raising, etc.;

          7.     The election of representatives from among the Fellows, to serve on various committees, 

                     including the College Board of Trustees, University Council and Senate;

          8.     The establishment of Standing Committee for handling routine and time-based college affairs. The terms 

                     of reference of the Standing Committee are approved by the College Assembly of Fellows;

          9.     The establishment of committees under the College Assembly of Fellows;

        10.     The submission of recommendations to the Board of Trustees on the development of the College;

        11.      Any other matters raised by the College Head.

(B)     Composition

          1.     The Assembly of Fellows of New Asia College was set up in accordance with Statute 16 of the

                     Chinese University of Hong Kong Ordinance;

          2.     The College Head serves as Chairperson; members are appointed by nomination or by election in 

                     accordance with the University Ordinance for a term of five years and shall be eligible for 

                     re-election. The total number of members shall not exceed 35;

          3.     The College Secretary serves as Secretary.

(C)     Meeting Schedule

          1.     The Committee shall normally convene at least three meetings each academic year;

          2.     The Chairperson may convene other ad hoc meeting(s) if deemed necessary. It may also be upon 

                     the request of more than 40 per cent of members. A notice of meeting shall be sent to 

                     members at least 7 days prior to the meeting;

          3.     The quorum of meeting shall be 40 per cent of members present in Hong Kong;

          4.     The Assembly may invite staff members or college students in attendance, for providing 

                     information relevant to the meeting;

          5.     The resolutions of the Assembly shall be approved by more than half of the voting members.  

                     If there is tie of votes, the final resolution shall be decided by the Chairperson;

          6.     With no contravention to the University Ordinance, the terms of reference and its amendment 

                     shall be approved by more than half of the voting members.

(D)     Committees of the Assembly of Fellows

          In accordance with item 8 and 9 of Statute 2 of the Constitution of the Assembly of Fellows, the following

          committees are set up to exercise College functions and duties:


          1.     Standing Committee

          2.     Committee on Academic Exchanges

          3.     Committee on Biweekly Assembly

          4.     Committee on Campus Development and Enhancement

          5.     Committee on College Culture

          6.     Committee on College History

          8.     Committee on Environmental Protection

          9.     Committee on General Education

        10.     General Education Advisory Board of New Asia College

        11.     Committee on Language and Culture

        12.     Committee for Lecture Series on Chinese Culture

        13.     Committee on New Asia College Cultural Talks

        14.     Committee on New Asia Lectures on Contemporary China

        15.     Editorial Committee on New Asia Life Monthly

        16.     Committee on Overseas Experience

        17.     Committee on Publication

        18.     Committee on Scholarships and Bursaries

        19.     Sports Committee

        20.     Committee on Student Counselling and Development

        21.     Committee on Student Discipline

        22.     Committee on Student Hostels

        23.     Committee on Student Installations and Artworks on Campus

        24.     Committee on the Management of Hui Gallery and Y.S. Hui Exchange Programme in Fine Arts

        25.     Committee on the Management of the College Canteen

        26.     Committee on Yen Kwo-Yung Lecture in Life Sciences

        27.     Steering Committee on Yu Ying Shih Lecture in History

        28.     Sub-Committee on Non-residential Hall

        29.     Sub-Committee on Student Exchange Programmes with Universities in Japan

         30.      Sub-Committee on Workshop on Chinese Moral Education


  All the above committees shall be accountable to the Assembly of Fellows by dealing with affairs  within their respective terms of reference. They may set up work groups or task force whenever necessary.  

(E)     The terms of reference, authorities and organizations of the committees shall be in accordance with 

             this constitution.

(F)     The other members of the committees are teaching staff appointed by the Assembly of Fellows for 

             a term of three years and shall be eligible for re-election. Each of the Committee shall consist of 

             a maximum of 15 members (not including student representatives).

(G)     The quorum of all committee meetings shall be 40 per cent of the members in Hong Kong.

(H)     The terms of reference, organization and procedures of the committees shall be in accordance with 

             this constitution.

        12 January 2017